Republic of Slovenia

National Flag

State: Democratic parliamentary republic since 25 June 1991, Member of the European Union since 1 May 2004
Capital: Ljubljana, 279.900 inhabitants

Official Language: Slovene, in some nationally mixed border areas also Italian and Hungarian
Currency: EUR 1 = 100 cents



Size: 20.273 km2

Length of borders: 1.370 km / with Austria 318 km, with Italy 280 km, with Hungary 102 km, with Croatia 670 km

Length of coastline: 46,6 km

Neighbouring states: Austria, Italy, Hungary, Croatia

Largest towns: Ljubljana (279.900), Maribor (111.150), Kranj (55.250), Celje (48.550)

Highest mountain: Triglav 2.864 m

Longest river: Sava 221 km

Landscape: The territory of Slovenia is geographically divided into four basic types of landscape - Alpine in the north, Mediterranean in the south-west, Dinaric in the south and Pannonian in the east.

Climate: There are three different types of climate in Slovenia / continental in the central part, Alpine in the north-west and sub-Mediterranean along the coast and its hinterland.

God's blessing on all nations,
Who long and work for that bright day,
When o'er earth's habitations
No war, no strife shall hold its sway;
Who long to see
That all men free
No more shall foes, but neighbours be.

Text of the Slovenian national anthem
(7th stanza of Zdravljica - A Toast by France Prešeren)


More about Slovenia at